Blogging the best of Vancouver – one restaurant at a time


Finally, it’s summer again and thanks to my extremely open schedule, I will try to get blog posts up and running again. Actually, I’ve just returned from my trip to Hong Kong about a couple weeks ago and boy, it was insanely humid! Once I walked out of the airport, a blast of heat just enveloped my face and soon enough, I felt my body react to the sweaty “sauna-like” conditions that these HK people must endure in the summer. Oh wait, I just remembered that this a food blog, and nobody wants to hear about the grossness of being sweaty. OK! I only have three words to describe the food in HK: cheap and authentic. By “authentic”, I’m obviously not talking about those fast food joints like Cafe de Coral, Fairwood, or Maxim’s. So enough with explaining cause I’m just going to show a few items that I tried and would like to try again.

JIAJANG NOODLES (special sauce minced pork on noodles)

SMALL (bowl) / LARGE (plate) : ~CAD $3/4.25

GOOD HOPE NOODLE @ Mong Kok

TAIWANESE FRIED PORK CHOP W/FRIED NOODLES

KOREAN VERMICELLI W/ MIX.VEGGIES & BEEF IN STONE POT

~CAD $5-8  (for all types of regular meals)

FOODREPUBLIC @ PLAZA HOLLYWOOD (Diamond Hill)

EBI DON (shrimp tempura w/egg on rice)

COMES WITH:  3 tiny pieces of salmon sashimi, a tiny bowl of not-so-spicy conch meat, and glass of orange juice

~ CAD $5.25

Lunch special @ TEKKOSAKUIN (Amoy Plaza)

ROASTED PIG/ FRIED OYSTERS

~ CAD $50-70 each/ unknown price, portion is larger than portrayed

THE LONDON RESTAURANT (near Yau Ma Tei MTR station)

Surprisingly, that’s it.  At least all the good food anyways. By the way, I’m not even going to mention the stupidly cheap food at the fast food joints as they were only mediocre.  Seriously, if you go to HK, you’re not going to eat THAT every morning, are you? (However, if you do decide to try out the fast food joints, choose Fairwood or Maxim’s.) Yes, though, I did try them if you must ask.

On a brighter note, I strongly recommend you visit Hong Kong if given the chance. It’s great to just walk around and get a feel of how different the lifestyle is, what with all the hustle and bustle of Chinese people everywhere.Plus, tech gear is slightly cheaper there due to no taxes and if you need cases for your phone or iPod, visit the indoor markets as that’s where the deals are at! I really wish Chinatown in Vancouver was cleaned up so it could attract more people, instead of scaring them off.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

